• Welcome to the Pupil Personnel Services Department


    Erie's Public Schools assures that a free and appropriate public education is provided to all eligible students residing within the district.

    Programs for students in need of specially designed instruction; accommodations and/or modification to access curriculum and school related activities are made available to all eligible students.  We offer a continuum of services for students with disabilities that begins with full inclusion in the child’s home school and class to separate programs within other schools in which peers without disabilities would not participate. Special education services are provided to eligible students at no cost to parents to assist them in reaching their maximum learning potential. Students are identified as needing special education by a multidisciplinary team (MDT) that includes the parent.  If the MDT team determines that a student has a disability or meets the criteria for gifted ability and needs specially designed instruction, an IEP (Individual Education Plan) team meets to develop specially designed instruction and accommodations/modifications to access the curriculum and school related activities and/or provide enrichment or acceleration within the curriculum.

    Parents may request an evaluation if they feel that their child is in need of services.  Please refer to the Special Programs content at left for further information regarding services and programs.


     

    Contact Information

    Special Education Office:  874-6050

    Dr. Angela Kownacki, Director of Pupil Services,   akownacki@eriesd.org

     

    Special Education Supervisors:

    Brad, Braggins bbraggins@eriesd.org :  Strong Vincent Middle, East Middle, Perry, Lincoln, Connell, Diehl

    Paul Causgrove pcausgrove@eriesd.org :  Pfeiffer-Burleigh, Harding, Jefferson, Grover Cleveland, Edison, McKinley

    Kristina Bokulich kbokulich@eriesd.org :  Erie High School, Collegiate, Wilson Middle, Cyber, Recovery Academy

    Linda Cappabianca lcappabianca@eriesd.org : Speech and Language, Early Intervention, Gifted, ESL

     

    Child Study Office:  874-6100

    School Psychologists:

    Kelly Recker krogers@eriesd.org :  Erie High School, Harding

    Heather Prichard hprichard@eriesd.org :  Erie High School, Perry

    Marc Fiorelli mfiorelli@eriesd.org :  Erie High School, Connell

    Amber Hotchkiss ahotchkiss@eriesd.org :  East Middle, Edison

    Stephanie Kalivoda skalivoda@eriesd.org :  Wilson Middle, Diehl

    Cathy Davis cdavis@eriesd.org :  East Middle, Lincoln, Early Intervention

    Jennifer Roden jroden@eriesd.org :   Strong Vincent Middle, Grover Cleveland

    Barb Famageltto bfamageltto@eriesd.org :  Wilson Middle, McKinley

    LuAnn Gatti lgatti@eriesd.org :  Collegiate, Pfeiffer-Burleigh

    Chris Marz cmarz@eriesd.org :  Strong Vincent Middle, Jefferson

     

    Early Intervention:

    Tracy Rigazzi, Early Intervention Coordinator, 874-6155 trigazzi@eriesd.org

     

    School Based Access Program:

    Sandy Gallagher, SBAP Administrator, sgallagher@eriesd.org

     

     Special Education Records:

    Rachael Moore, 874-6102, ramoore@eriesd.org

  • The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires Pennsylvania to ensure that the total number of students assessed in each subject using the PASA does not exceed one percent of the total number of all students in the state assessed on the statewide assessments. Each local educational agency (LEA) must complete and submit the PASA 1.0 Percent Participation Threshold Justification to BSE if it anticipates that more than 1.0 % of its students enrolled in grades 3-8 and 11 will be assessed using the PASA. A list of LEAs who anticipate exceeding the threshold will be made publicly available on the PDE website, in accordance with 34 CFR 200.6 (c)(3) regulations. LEAs must also make the document publicly available upon request, removing any personally identifiable information. The Erie School District anticipates exceeding the 1.0 percent threshold for PASA participation for the 2019-20 testing cycle. The necessary justification information has been submitted to the Bureau of Special Education. Questions on the district’s participation rates should be directed to Angela Kownacki, Pupil Services Director.

    Comments (-1)