• Welcome to the Pupil Personnel Services Department


    Erie's Public Schools assures that a free and appropriate public education is provided to all eligible students residing within the district.

    Programs for students in need of specially designed instruction; accommodations and/or modification to access curriculum and school related activities are made available to all eligible students.  We offer a continuum of services for students with disabilities that begins with full inclusion in the child’s home school and class to separate programs within other schools in which peers without disabilities would not participate. Special education services are provided to eligible students at no cost to parents to assist them in reaching their maximum learning potential. Students are identified as needing special education by a multidisciplinary team (MDT) that includes the parent.  If the MDT team determines that a student has a disability or meets the criteria for gifted ability and needs specially designed instruction, an IEP (Individual Education Plan) team meets to develop specially designed instruction and accommodations/modifications to access the curriculum and school related activities and/or provide enrichment or acceleration within the curriculum.

    Parents may request an evaluation if they feel that their child is in need of services.  Please refer to the Special Programs content at left for further information regarding services and programs.


     

     

    Contact Information

    Special Education Office:  874-6050

    Dr. Angela Kownacki, Director of Pupil Services,   akownacki@eriesd.org

     

    Special Education Supervisors:

    Brad, Braggins bbraggins@eriesd.org :  Strong Vincent Middle, East Middle, Perry, Lincoln, Connell, Diehl

    Paul Causgrove pcausgrove@eriesd.org :  Pfeiffer-Burleigh, Harding, Jefferson, Grover Cleveland, Edison, McKinley

    Kristina Bokulich kbokulich@eriesd.org :  Erie High School, Collegiate, Wilson Middle, Cyber, Recovery Academy

    Linda Cappabianca lcappabianca@eriesd.org : Speech and Language, Early Intervention, Gifted, ESL

     

    Child Study Office:  874-6100

    School Psychologists:

    Kelly Recker krogers@eriesd.org :  Erie High School, Harding

    Heather Prichard hprichard@eriesd.org :  Erie High School, Perry

    Marc Fiorelli mfiorelli@eriesd.org :  Erie High School, Connell

    Amber Hotchkiss ahotchkiss@eriesd.org :  East Middle, Edison

    Stephanie Kalivoda skalivoda@eriesd.org :  Wilson Middle, Diehl

    Cathy Davis cdavis@eriesd.org :  East Middle, Lincoln, Early Intervention

    Jennifer Roden jroden@eriesd.org :   Strong Vincent Middle, Grover Cleveland

    Barb Famageltto bfamageltto@eriesd.org :  Wilson Middle, McKinley

    LuAnn Gatti lgatti@eriesd.org :  Collegiate, Pfeiffer-Burleigh

    Chris Marz cmarz@eriesd.org :  Strong Vincent Middle, Jefferson

     

    Early Intervention:

    Tracy Rigazzi, Early Intervention Coordinator, 874-6155 trigazzi@eriesd.org

     

    School Based Access Program:

    Sandy Gallagher, SBAP Administrator, sgallagher@eriesd.org

     

     Special Education Records:

    Rachael Moore, 874-6102, ramoore@eriesd.org

  • Parent Resources

     

    RESOURCES THE ARC OF PENNSYLVANIA

    301 Chestnut Street, Suite 403 Harrisburg, PA 17101

    800-692-7258

    www.thearcpa.org

     

    BUREAU OF SPECIAL EDUCATION'S CONSULTLINE, A PARENT HELPLINE

    800-879-2301

    Consult Line personnel are available to parents and advocates of children with disabilities or children thought to be disabled to explain federal and state laws relating to special education; describe the options that are available to parents; inform the parents of procedural safeguards; identify other agencies and support services; and describe available remedies and how the parents can proceed.

     

    DISABILITIES RIGHTS NETWORK

    1414 North Cameron Street Suite C Harrisburg, PA 17103

    800-692-7443 (Toll-Free Voice) 877-375-7139

     (TDD) 717-236-8110

    (Voice) 717-346-0293 (TDD) 717-236-0192

    (Fax) www.drnpa.org

     

    HISPANOS UNIDOS PARA NIÑOS EXCEPCIONALES (PHILADELPHIA HUNE, INC.)

    2215 North American Street Philadelphia, PA 19133

    215-425-6203 215-425-6204 (Fax) huneinc@aol.com www.huneinc.org

     

    MISSION EMPOWER

    1611 Peach Street, Suite 120

    Erie, PA 16501 814-825-0788

    advocate@missionempower.org

    www.missionempower.org

     

    OFFICE FOR DISPUTE RESOLUTION

    6340 Flank Drive Harrisburg, PA 17112-2764

     717-901-2145 (Phone)

    800-222-3353 (Toll free in PA only)

    TTY Users: PA Relay 711 717-657-5983

    (Fax) www.odr-pa.org

     The Office for Dispute Resolution administers the mediation and due process systems statewide, and provides training and services regarding alternative dispute resolution methods.

     

     PARENT EDUCATION AND ADVOCACY LEADERSHIP CENTER (PEAL)

    1119 Penn Avenue, Suite 400 Pittsburgh, PA 15222

    412-281-4404 866-950-1040

    (Toll Free) 412-281-4409

    (TTY) 412-281-4408

    (Fax) www.pealcenter.org

     

    PUBLIC INTEREST LAW CENTER OF PHILADELPHIA

    United Way Building 1709 Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Second Floor Philadelphia, PA 19103

    215-627-7100 (Phone)

    215-627-3183 (Fax)

    www.pilcop.org

     

     PENNSYLVANIA BAR ASSOCIATION 100 South Street Harrisburg, PA 17101

    800-932-0311

    www.pabar.org

     

     THE PENNSYLVANIA TRAINING AND TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE NETWORK (PaTTAN)

    Harrisburg 800-360-7282

    King of Prussia 800-441-3215

    Pittsburgh 800-446-5607

    www.pattan.net

     

    STATE TASK FORCE ON THE RIGHT TO EDUCATION

    3190 William Pitt Way Pittsburgh, PA 15238

    1-800-446-5607 ext. 6828

    Comments (-1)